Sarcoidosis Soldier

Arturo Giovannitti was an Italian who emigrated to North America in the early 1900s. It was a time of great discrimination and inequality for Italians in the United States then. Italians were falsely considered a lesser people, as has unfortunately happened far too many times to far too many different ethnic groups in a nation dedicated to the “poor huddled masses yearning to be free”.

Giovannitti studied theology, eventually becoming a labor leader, poet and political activist.

By design, my blog is neither religious nor political but when I read this sermon and thought about the state of the world today, I was touched deeply by Giovannitt’s words. I wanted to share an excerpt from what was perhaps his most famous work.

I hope you will find it as moving as I did.

"...Blessed are the strong in freedom's spirit: for 
theirs is the kingdom of the earth.
Blessed are…

View original post 106 more words

